Do you need a little Cynicism with your Potential?

If you’re trying to save the environment you’re an optimist. There’s no way around it.

You’ll meet lots of people who see great potential – potential in their ideas, ideas they’ve read of someone else, of a theory or political or economic system. Some just see great potential in the human race. But all of us see great potential in the way we could manage our environment, our societies and our species. We see great potential in how the world could be in the future. And we’re surrounded by cynics. People who tell us what’s wrong RIGHT NOW. Never mind so much about future, what about what we can see RIGHT NOW?

But they’re optimists too and I love them.

Because while ago,  Ms. Danielle Le Porte warned me about becoming addicted to potential:

Are you addicted to potential?

Caution, she warns, should be applied to falling in love with the future and not seeing the present. In my youthful, idealistic state these are valuable words.

I’ll keep my optimism, thank you very much Danielle. But also I shan’t let my fixation on the wonderful future interfere with the serious business of changing the present to get there.

It can take a while to see the distinction, but as she says:

“Discriminate.
Have the courage to suspend the dream so you can see reality.”

I already wrote about cynicism. It is creative. It is optimism. Cynicism is about avoiding being blinded by light of potential too though, isn’t it? I think if you’re overwhelmed by potential, all the good stuff will all remain in the future. Cynicism brings you back to the now. And we can usually do more in the now than we can do in the future (as we’re not there yet…)

Therefore, I shall remain cynical and optimistic and move things in the now. Dance with potential, just do less business with it.

Do you think us in there trying to save the environment, it whatever way, could do with a reminder, reassurance, that cynicism is good? We shouldn’t feel guilty. It’s a good thing. Potential isn’t everything. Instead, optimism and cynicism, I reckon.

So I might be grumpy, but I’ll still be counting stars……

Lately, I’ve been, I’ve been losing sleep
Dreaming about the things that we could be
But baby, I’ve been, I’ve been praying hard,
Said, no more counting dollars
We’ll be counting stars, yeah we’ll be counting stars

…Old, but I’m not that old
Young, but I’m not that bold
I don’t think the world is sold
I’m just doing what we’re told…

I feel something so right
Doing the wrong thing
I feel something so wrong
Doing the right thing

Everything that kills me makes me feel alive

Everything that drowns me makes me wanna fly

Everything that kills me makes feel alive

I feel the love and I feel it burn
Down this river, every turn
Hope is a four-letter word

Take that money
Watch it burn
Sing in the river
The lessons are learnt

Leave a Reply

